I’m getting close to finishing the CG part of this project. I still need to put in the 2d lever elements the man will interact with, and i’m not sure about the framing of the hemisphere. I also need to place some dirt down the bottom where the character sits. Then it’s all lighting and animating.

The low poly mushrooms allowed me to practice my hypernurbs. I use heaps of loft, arch and lathe nurbs to make 2d splines(2 dimensional line shapes etc.) into 3d objects, however i don’t use many hypernurbs which help turn blocky animations into smoother models with more polygons, as i’ve always found them difficult to manipulate.

I’m also pretty proud of this chain. Although it’s easy to do, i learned about clone objects and a bit more about modynamics. Modynamics is this really sweet feature in C4D that allows 3D objects to interact with each other, and it can add physics etc. It’s pretty difficult compared to modelling but there are some things that are impossible to animate by keyframing, modynamics is really useful in this regard.

 

Although i’m taking my time with this scene, the reality is that i need to make things look better in C4D, and also be way faster. If i’m ever going to finish a feature animation by myself i’ll need to be very quick, otherwise it will take 5 years instead of the 3 i’m aiming for. It’s really tricky because I want it to look better, yet wish to be quicker at doing it. I guess practice on top of practice is the only way i’m going to get there. *punches brick wall*

 

Anyway, enough of this CG talk that most of you would find boring. It certainly doesn’t help that there’s this whole 3D lingo, FOR EACH SPECIFIC SOFTWARE PACKAGE! That’s probably why CG artists hang out in wild street gangs with other artists using the same package. They’ll totally fuck you up with their polygonal style BIATCH! :p

The next stage is stop-mo dirt and compositing 😀

-PERM

 

